Post – Symbian era, Post – Nokia era

It’s been a long time.

The Nokia Store has closed.

The “Nokia” brand name doesn’t appear on Lumia phones now.

But hey, we got new map data! We have the HERE team to thank for that. They are the only ones left from “Nokia”.

And hey, AppList still receives new apps. Developers are open-sourcing their apps, games and themes.

And we are here with our Symbian phones. We have mostly all we need. It would be better if this system would open sourced too. This happened to webOS (another system ahead of its time and since abandoned) and now it has become something else. LuneOS already has great app compatibility and runs on modern hardware. Some are trying to port the modern SailfishOS to old Xperia phones with keyboard.

Some time ago I went hiking and at some point, on the way back, I sat on a rock to catch my breath. Crack. It came from below, from my pocket. I’d cracked my Nokia’s screen. A drop from 2 metres didn’t do it, a violent throw at the pavement neither, but my weight seemingly did. And I’m not too heavy, mind you; I’ve always kept my phone in the back pocket. Yes, it was bad. It flickered and didn’t show anything. I took it the next week to a repair shop and they asked for £ 40. It was fine with me; I got it the next day and it worked well, plus the display was brand new and had no scratches. However, after a week, the screen started lifting, as tough it wasn’t properly glued. I took it back and they told me not to pull it and that it will get better after some time. It didn’t. I looked online for repair parts and a full front LCD display glass with digitiser was about $ 13 dollars (they only replaced my glass panel).

My battery had been doing really well and usually lasted me at least three days, but it’s been almost 4 years since I’ve had it and now only lasts a day. I bought a new battery pack.

My Nokia 700 has pretty much lived its life. Once fully repaired, since a friend asked for it, I’ll give it.
This summer I got a keyboard Blackberry 10 device. I imported my poddi feeds, bookmarks, ebooks, dictionaries, set up my Readability and Evernote accounts. The Blackberry Hub is fantastic; I never thought I’d be able to read all my mails, but it helps me do it.

The best thing about Blackberries is that the notification light colour changes and tells the type of message, from what account it came.

I don’t know what to say, this simply works for me. They also future-proofed their plaform by making Android apps compatible. There is a row of stores on my phone: BlackBerry World, Amazon App Store/ Underground, F-droid and Snap. As for maps, there is a great Open Street Maps client that downloads the data for offline use: Maps.me

I’ll keep you posted; I’m not done with Symbian yet. I have an archive to publish and a collection to finish. I happen to be a little busy now.

My sincere thanks to NuclearSquid who has done a better job than me already in collecting apps and sorting them.

All the collected apps will in the end be forwarded in the App List.

Thanks for being part of this!

3 comments

  1. cityhunter62 · · Reply

    Ah ah… I just discovered your website and archives today… Great work, thanks a lot.
    A shame you did not choose a more popular name for your website, for instance, Symbianphone or Bellephone, or Nokiaphone.
    Because I own a N8, a E7 and a 808, but no 700, so I found your website by chance only today…
    Shame I haven’t found it earlier…

  2. Sanchis · · Reply

    Thanks you for your fabulous blog.
    A great pleasure to read your posts.

  3. Please Also Upload All Collected Apps To : mediafire, 2shared site.
    i am unable to download from AppList.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

